Many Tip Tuesday

When you go to a good cooking class, you come out of it with more than a handful of recipes. In fact, that’s why I like to go to cooking classes, for the tips–the asides that are tossed out between the chopping and the frying.

This past weekend I attended a class taught by the fabulous Evan Kleiman of Angeli Caffe fame and of KCRW’s Good Food. It was part of the cooking classes put on by Anne Willan, founder of La Varenne cooking school in France, which has moved, in a new incarnation, to Santa Monica. I thought I’d share some of what I learned.

Do you know the “shaky bowl” method for peeling garlic? Check it out!

And the best way to mince it? Use a microplane! (Why didn’t I think of that??)

How about this innovative way of separating yolks from whites? Nuts, right?

No video for this one, but Evan taught us the quickest way to caramelize onions. Toss sliced onions in a pan with oil (or butter) and some water, cover and cook until the onions are soft. Cook a little more, uncovered, until the water is gone and the onions are deliciously browned.

A store selling all sorts of cool things is Cube, on La Brea. You can order goodies on the website. Great for the holidays.

Want to know everything there is to know about olive oils (and other stuff)? Go to Zingerman’s website and poke around for a good education. Great mail-order source, too.

If you can’t make it to the farmers market, you can still get your fresh produce thanks to The Farmers Market Fairy. Evan swears by her!

And a great tip from me to you: Check out other La Varenne cooking classes and website!

Here’s a little something Evan Kleiman taught us how to make:

Polenta “Aga Khan” with sautéed mushrooms, shaved truffle, a fried egg and gold flakes!

That’s it for today’s tips! See you next time!

About cdhla

I'm a former editor at several lifestyle magazines who's been freelancing since moving from NYC to LA. I call my blog The Chipped Platter to remind us that chips are better than perfection. The platter in question, a round one made by Gien, has traveled the world with me, visited with friends and family, celebrated milestones, and offered sustenance. My cherished Chipped Platter is part of the family. (I love my chipped plates, too!) On this blog, I'll be sharing my adventures of cooking for my family and friends, venturing out into restaurants and learning tips from people I meet. Come along!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Many Tip Tuesday

  1. Verity says:

    Very Cool! I love this! I had no idea you were doing this. I’ll be sure to check in and make use of your excellent advice from now on. I’ve never lost your French ‘flirting’ tips–thank you! My hugs and love to you and your family. Hope you’re having fun and good food in the sunshine!

    • cdhla says:

      Verity! So nice to hear from you! I’ve long forgotten my French flirting tips, I’m sorry to say. (I’d love to relearn them, though!) xoxo

Leave a Reply

