Two-Tip Tuesday!

Tip One: Do It Yourself!

I’m not much of a DIY kind of person and unfortunately neither is my husband. We have a great handyman whom I call far too regularly for really embarrassingly silly little things. But after having recently called him–yet again–to fix our garden fountain, I thought I’d try to fix our dishwasher myself. (You see, fabulous José doesn’t charge us for pulling pine needles out of a fountain pump or for tightening, once again, a loose door knob and I don’t want to take advantage of his kindness.)

So, I did some research an came upon Tip Number One: ApplianceRepairLesson.com. It’s an incredible site (though a little hard to navigate) that offers videos and forums about fixing all sorts of appliances. I typed in my dishwasher model and watched the how-to video. Then I ran out to buy  my tools:

My tools! Torx screwdriver set and needle-nose pliers.

I got into my dishwasher and did what the voice in my video told me to do. I took off the grill and scooped out and sopped up the water that had been collecting in the basin. I removed the filter and popped out some other piece. I removed stuff.

Inside my dishwasher.

Then, instead of hand-washing dishes until José or a repair person could arrive, I loaded them:

No hand-washing for me!

And this brings me to Tip Number Two for the day:

Don’t believe those people who say you don’t need to give your plates even a quick rinse before loading them into your dishwasher. Pay particular attention to lemon seeds! They should never be washed.

And an added tip: Ask your significant other if he or she might already have the tools you need. We now have two sets of torx screwdrivers. (And I have a new word in my vocabulary!)

About cdhla

I'm a former editor at several lifestyle magazines who's been freelancing since moving from NYC to LA. I call my blog The Chipped Platter to remind us that chips are better than perfection. The platter in question, a round one made by Gien, has traveled the world with me, visited with friends and family, celebrated milestones, and offered sustenance. My cherished Chipped Platter is part of the family. (I love my chipped plates, too!) On this blog, I'll be sharing my adventures of cooking for my family and friends, venturing out into restaurants and learning tips from people I meet. Come along!
This entry was posted in kitchen equipment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two-Tip Tuesday!

  1. liza says:

    I’m impressed! And thanks for the website link, Christy. I may need to tackle the washer in the near future…

    • cdhla says:

      Hi Liza,
      It feels great to actually do something like this! At the hardware store I also bought a snake to unclog my bathroom sink and a big wrench in case the snake doesn’t work and I need to open the pipe!
      Thanks for reading!

  2. Mary Scott says:

    Ah, le bricolage! J’aime ca!

Leave a Reply

