Ladies who (cook) Lunch

Some friends and I wanted to get together for a little lunch before picking the kids up from school. We were pondering (via email) where to go when one of us spoke up: “Come to my house!” Dana wrote. “I promise to make something yummy.”

I smelled something delicious as I walked into her home at noon. She was baking a tart.

Dana's grating cheese on top of the tart.

I was the first guest to arrive and we chatted as she scooped out slivers of avocado for the salad. I noticed the perfectly ripe cubes of orange mango in small glass bowls and wondered if they were going into the salad, too. But no! Dana was also making us dessert–mango with matcha-yogurt topping!

It was so nice being at Dana’s house rather than a restaurant. I flipped through a copy of Lucky Peach that was on her counter (I’d never read one), I got a little lesson in matcha, I took a peek at the cookbooks on her shelves and learned how she organizes the magazine and internet recipes she clips.

Our mutual friend arrived then a new friend did. Lunch, a celebration of spring, was served:

Lunch!

Asparagus and Green Herb Tart with Pomegranate Dressing from a book called “Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfum” by Silvena Rowe, a London chef I hadn’t heard of. On the side was a salad of Asparagus, Avocado and Almonds with Sesame Citrus Dressing from “The Best of Anabel Langbein: Great Food for Busy Lives.” Anabel Langbein is another author I didn’t know but she’s quite the lifestyle guru in New Zealand, where our host lived for a while. Take a look at her website, which is generous with recipes.

Dessert, the mango with yogurt mixed with white chocolate and matcha (from a recipe in Bon Appétit), was lovely.

How nice to lunch with the ladies and how wonderful to make a new friend. We all laughed and talked about all sorts of things. As we ate, I noticed that Dana uses ingredients that rarely make it into dishes I prepare. I love the flavor of sesame oil but never use it. Matcha has never entered my home. And I love the touch of a slice of orange in the bubbly water.

Refreshing water with orange slice.

OH! One-thirty! We scrambled out of the house to retrieve our kids. We didn’t help with the dishes (sorry!!) but we promised to host future lunches!

About cdhla

I'm a former editor at several lifestyle magazines who's been freelancing since moving from NYC to LA. I call my blog The Chipped Platter to remind us that chips are better than perfection. The platter in question, a round one made by Gien, has traveled the world with me, visited with friends and family, celebrated milestones, and offered sustenance. My cherished Chipped Platter is part of the family. (I love my chipped plates, too!) On this blog, I'll be sharing my adventures of cooking for my family and friends, venturing out into restaurants and learning tips from people I meet. Come along!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ladies who (cook) Lunch

  1. Francesca Guerrini says:

    Yummy lunch, ladies!
    Love
    Francesca

  2. Liz Comay says:

    Hey Christy,
    Loved the post . . . I have had the pleasure of lunch/dinner/cooking and just hanging out with Dana. I feel the same way. When ever do I use sumack,and make grapefruit sorbet? All of us should be more adventurous and invite more friends to lunch, or just over to bake a pie together!

  3. Pingback: Granola I Crave | The Chipped Platter II

  4. Pingback: The Chipped Platter

Leave a Reply

