Two Tip Tuesday

Tuesday has rolled around again and this week we have tips for avoiding–or curing–that cold that’s going around.

Tip One:

Tazo Green Tea, Zen variety.

Tazo Zen tea.

I had this at a friend’s house a couple of weeks ago and am now addicted. The lemongrass and spearmint flavoring is just right this time of year. (Heck, I’m sure it’s great in summer, too.) It’s been helping me battle the cold.

Tip Two is the best:

Giuliano Hazan’s Classic Tuscan Vegetable Soup

aka La Ribollita

aka Henry’s Famous Soup

The best vegetable soup in the world.

This is the best vegetable soup I’ve ever tasted. I could live on it. It’s incredibly healthy and completely vegetarian (no broth, just water!). We make a meal of it, but you could start with a small bowl as part of a meal.

My husband Henry makes it from one of his all-time favorite cookbooks, “Every Night Italian: 120 Simple, Delicious Recipes you can Prepare in 45 Minutes or Less” by Marcella’s son, Giuliano. He makes a lot of fabulous food from this book (Fusilli with Sausage and Leeks, the amazing Chicken Braised with Red Wine, the Pork Loin Braised with Savoy Cabbage and even Gratinéed Fennel with Parmesan Cheese,) but this is our favorite. “It’s the simplicity and the economy of the recipes,” Henry says, explaining why he’s such a fan of the book. “So few ingredients produce such powerful results in such a short period of time.”

Lucky for us, Giuliano has posted the recipe on his website! Go get it and make up a batch. It really, truly is an amazing soup. (And bookmark the website. It’s a good one.)

And buy the book. It’s a great guy gift (which, in turn, will be a gift to you–if you’re lucky).

If you’re not under the weather, stay healthy. If you have the rotten cold, try my remedies!

About cdhla

I'm a former editor at several lifestyle magazines who's been freelancing since moving from NYC to LA. I call my blog The Chipped Platter to remind us that chips are better than perfection. The platter in question, a round one made by Gien, has traveled the world with me, visited with friends and family, celebrated milestones, and offered sustenance. My cherished Chipped Platter is part of the family. (I love my chipped plates, too!) On this blog, I'll be sharing my adventures of cooking for my family and friends, venturing out into restaurants and learning tips from people I meet. Come along!
This entry was posted in cookbooks, recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two Tip Tuesday

  1. liza says:

    I will definitely try both. I have the Tazo Awake black tea, which I like, but I need to make the switch to green. I hope you feel well soon!

Leave a Reply

