Two-Tip Tuesday

Here we are with a new weekly post: Two-Tip Tuesday!

Here are my tips for today:

Tip One: Hard cider.

It’s popular in pubs all over the English countryside and is the requisite drink to enjoy with crêpes in  Brittany, but you rarely see hard cider here in America. This holiday season, Orchard Gate Gold J. K.’s Scrumpy might replace prosecco (which replaced Champagne a few years ago) as my “cocktail” of choice. The naturally fermented organic cider, made since the 1860s from apples grown on a family farm in Michigan, is slightly effervescent and slightly alcoholic (6%). It’s simply delightful and can be found at Surfas in Culver City. I like to drink it from a Champagne flute. So festive!

It's cider for the holidays!

Tip Two: This pepper mill from Kuhn Rikon.

The best pepper mill.

It works better than any of our wood or metal mills ever did. It doesn’t look so great on the dining table, but it should find a nice spot in your kitchen. At $19.95 it’s great as a stocking stuffer or hostess gift!

Check back next week for another tip or two!

About cdhla

I'm a former editor at several lifestyle magazines who's been freelancing since moving from NYC to LA. I call my blog The Chipped Platter to remind us that chips are better than perfection. The platter in question, a round one made by Gien, has traveled the world with me, visited with friends and family, celebrated milestones, and offered sustenance. My cherished Chipped Platter is part of the family. (I love my chipped plates, too!) On this blog, I'll be sharing my adventures of cooking for my family and friends, venturing out into restaurants and learning tips from people I meet. Come along!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two-Tip Tuesday

  1. Yvette says:

    I, too, am always on the lookout for a crisp glass of French or British cider. I recently came across a fantastic bottle of French cider at the Beverage Warehouse in the Marina. The alcohol content is only 2% so it’s perfect with lunch or as an aperitif. At $9-, it’s more than it would cost in France, but they rarely ship this stuff here, so in my book, it’s well worth it. I’ll try to remember to bring a bottle to the next lunch — that is, if all your readers haven’t depleted my supply!

Leave a Reply

