Pressure cooker success!

First off, this Thanksgiving’s gravy was the best I’ve ever made (if I do say so and even if nobody else did). I made it with my homemade chicken stock…thanks to my new pressure cooker! The turkey was excellent too. (I’ve been making Mama Lou’s Turkey in a Bag ever since I learned how when I was an editor at Saveur magazine. It’s turned out perfect every time. No basting necessary and it’s still moist and nicely browned! And no, I don’t brine it.)

The 18-pound bird.

Anyway, the gravy was great. We had a potluck meal with friends and family and every dish was delicious. I think I liked my pal Kelly’s cornbread stuffing more than my sourdough and sausage version. In fact, I know I did. I liked her cranberry-Champagne cocktail with dancing pomegranate seeds, too. My mother’s fresh cranberry sauce was excellent and perfectly tart. Tony’s grilled lamb chops, accompanied by Helen’s homemade mint jelly, were a surprisingly well-received addition and the two sweet potato pies made by Didi’s moonlighting salesgirl at Neiman’s were tasty. They looked much better than my pumpkin pie, too. But enough of Thanksgiving memories. I wanted to write about last night’s dinner.

I always forget to dress up the table. This time, I clipped some grape vines to run down the middle of the table. I added pomegranates from my mother's tree, persimmons and some funky pumpkins we bought at Hallowe'en.

So, my pressure cooked broccoli risotto was amazing–and so easy! It’s Lorna Sass’s recipe that I found in this post on the Diner’s Journal blog on NYTimes.com. I got all the food prepped (sautéed chopped onion and garlic in the pot, then stirred in chopped broccoli, rice, a pinch of salt and another of saffron, and added my pressure-cooked homemade chicken stock) then waited for my husband to come home. I turned on the heat as he walked in the door, tossed a salad, set the table, then released the steam. I stirred in the cheese and we ate. If he wore a tie, he wouldn’t have had time to take it off!

Quick broccoli risotto.

Note: Next time I might try this recipe that Sass shares on Huffington Post. But come December 25th, I’m thinking I might have a whole cookbook worth of her recipes. I’ve been hinting, anyway!

About cdhla

I'm a former editor at several lifestyle magazines who's been freelancing since moving from NYC to LA. I call my blog The Chipped Platter to remind us that chips are better than perfection. The platter in question, a round one made by Gien, has traveled the world with me, visited with friends and family, celebrated milestones, and offered sustenance. My cherished Chipped Platter is part of the family. (I love my chipped plates, too!) On this blog, I'll be sharing my adventures of cooking for my family and friends, venturing out into restaurants and learning tips from people I meet. Come along!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

