Intentional leftovers

In preparation for dinner with two friends from out of town, I went shopping. On my list was a 7- to 8-pound pork butt (aka “shoulder”). My husband wrote up that shopping list (surprise?) and would be cooking so I didn’t question him about quantity. I knew our friends were big fans of the pig, but an 8-pound hunk of meat for four?

Henry followed the fabulous recipe from Mozza that we discovered a while back in the New York Times. It’s foolproof (not that my husband is a fool) and fabulous. The meat is coated with a peppery rub then roasted all day at a very low temperature. The crunchy and chewy exterior paired with the tender and flavorful interior is addictive. We served it with roasted potatoes, a dandelion and radicchio salad and the perfect pinot noir our friends brought from Sanford Winery in the Santa Rita Hills near Santa Barbara.

Mozza’s pork butt.

An unexpected friend join us (love when that happens!), and some of us had seconds, so we got through a lot of the meat. But not all of it, by any means.

Turns out Henry knew what he was doing when he scribbled “7- to 8- pound pork butt.” We had some for dinner the following night, which was tasty. ButĀ this is really why he ordered up such a monster piece of meat:

Henry's Weekend Breakfast.

Breakfast!

Note: The pinot noir was amazing. You can order some online from Stanford’s website.

About cdhla

I'm a former editor at several lifestyle magazines who's been freelancing since moving from NYC to LA. I call my blog The Chipped Platter to remind us that chips are better than perfection. The platter in question, a round one made by Gien, has traveled the world with me, visited with friends and family, celebrated milestones, and offered sustenance. My cherished Chipped Platter is part of the family. (I love my chipped plates, too!) On this blog, I'll be sharing my adventures of cooking for my family and friends, venturing out into restaurants and learning tips from people I meet. Come along!
This entry was posted in recipe, restaurants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Intentional leftovers

  1. liza says:

    I definitely want Henry’s breakfast.

  2. jmillett says:

    Looks fantastic!

  3. maria says:

    Just found your lovely blog courtesy of Laura Sanderson Healy. I’m a fellow Angeleno w/ a question: where did you find the pork butt? I’ve gone looking for that cut at places that sell meat w/o hormones (Gelsons, Whole Foods) and been told that they don’t carry it and that I should look at Smart and Final, etc., I’ve always wanted to try Mark Bittman’s similar recipe.

    • cdhla says:

      Hi Maria,
      Thank you for your note (and for reading!). I got the pork butt at Whole Foods on Wilshire and 23rd in Santa Monica. It’s also called pork shoulder. The butcher there says they get it regularly but that it goes quickly. I went mid-afternoon on delivery day (which was Wednesday) and he said they were already running low. It’s really worth tracking down!
      Best,
      Christy

  4. Carrie says:

    Mmmmm. I think the poached egg is the new pork belly! Ok, maybe not, because eggs aren’t trendy, they’re classic.

Leave a Reply

