Would you pay $24 for an artichoke?

Last night at a celebratory dinner at Capo, in Santa Monica, the menu almost made me sick. Yes, a “Jumbo Organic Lyon Artichoke” was listed at $24. I didn’t ask how it was prepared, but you’d think they’d mention a stuffing of foie gras or shavings of truffles on top if they were included.

How is an artichoke, one of my favorite things in the world, worth $24?

I ordered a glass of Champagne, my husband ordered a martini and we toasted to our 15 years together. The obscene prices quickly became but a blur.

The Maryland crab torta sounded good, but I got a salad of romaine, grilled in the wood-burning oven salad and tossed with a delectable Caesar-y sort of dressing. Henry ordered bruschetta with burrata, shaved asparagus, a poached egg and black summer truffles shaving.

To avoid taking out a second mortgage, we didn’t order any wine. I had another glassa and so did Henry.

Then I had the Santa Barbara spot prawns, which were light and delicious, served with Italian beans (some of which were slightly undercooked). Henry had the veal chop and roasted vegetables. We’re not big dessert people, but we enjoyed a few nibbles from the complimentary plate of petits fours that was brought out with Henry’s espresso.

The service was impeccable. I really liked our waiter, a well-spoken and charming young woman. The tiny restaurant was packed with, it seemed, people celebrating special occasions. And it’s the perfect place to do so.

Capo

1810 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica

310-394-5550

 

About cdhla

I'm a former editor at several lifestyle magazines who's been freelancing since moving from NYC to LA. I call my blog The Chipped Platter to remind us that chips are better than perfection. The platter in question, a round one made by Gien, has traveled the world with me, visited with friends and family, celebrated milestones, and offered sustenance. My cherished Chipped Platter is part of the family. (I love my chipped plates, too!) On this blog, I'll be sharing my adventures of cooking for my family and friends, venturing out into restaurants and learning tips from people I meet. Come along!
This entry was posted in eggs, restaurants, santa monica, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

