Am I justified?

Years ago, I convinced my mother to give my son–who was turning 7–a Kitchen Aid mixer for his birthday. (He’s very hard to buy for. He has special needs and doesn’t play games or sports. His favorite things to do are listen to music and go for walks. He doesn’t cook, but the rationale was that I would use it to make him birthday cakes every year.)

Ben's Kitchen Aid

We gave my daughter a Cuisinart ice cream maker for her 9th birthday last month. This one made more sense–she loves ice cream and we legitimately thought she’d like to make her own. We were right, but she really got the gift because I wanted to try making things like the Thai chile-cucumber sorbet I’d had recently at Sweet Rose Creamery in Brentwood.) www.sweetrosecreamery.com

Maisie's Ice Cream Maker

My son’s birthday is coming up again next month and what I think would be a good gift from grandma is a pressure cooker. You see, my son loves rice and I could cook it for him–and very quickly, I might add–in a pressure cooker. I have my eye on this one for him: http://www.surlatable.com/product/PRO-6913/Fagor-Futuro-Pressure-Cookers Have you ever justified a kitchen gift given to a non-cooker?

About cdhla

I'm a former editor at several lifestyle magazines who's been freelancing since moving from NYC to LA. I call my blog The Chipped Platter to remind us that chips are better than perfection. The platter in question, a round one made by Gien, has traveled the world with me, visited with friends and family, celebrated milestones, and offered sustenance. My cherished Chipped Platter is part of the family. (I love my chipped plates, too!) On this blog, I'll be sharing my adventures of cooking for my family and friends, venturing out into restaurants and learning tips from people I meet. Come along!
This entry was posted in kitchen equipment, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

