Feeling bad about all the food you thow out?

For those of you who really don’t like to waste food (but maybe find yourselves doing so), I have one word for you: Chickens.

Giving them the leftovers makes you feel better about accidentally overbuying. You can compost, of course, but it’s not quite the same.

It’s so much fun to give my chickens treats that I found myself subconsciously buying too much organic arugula, romaine, carrots, peas, broccoli and more so I could share with them once it sort of started to go limp.

But then I started feeling guilty about it (it does get expensive) and decided to ask farmers for scraps–beet or carrot tops, wilted swiss chard, etc–at the bi-weekly market. What a joy to come home with bags of goodies for our girls! But that’s only once or twice a week. (I’ll share leaves of homegrown kale, at times, and never keep the grubs to myself.)

But, using my powers of justification (see previous post), I realize that we come out ahead even if I give them organic, store-bought vegetables. They cost less than the eggs I would otherwise been buying.

Here’s how it works in photos:

Green beans go into the mini mixer

Girls come running to meet me

The girls enjoy their treat

The Prize

About cdhla

I'm a former editor at several lifestyle magazines who's been freelancing since moving from NYC to LA. I call my blog The Chipped Platter to remind us that chips are better than perfection. The platter in question, a round one made by Gien, has traveled the world with me, visited with friends and family, celebrated milestones, and offered sustenance. My cherished Chipped Platter is part of the family. (I love my chipped plates, too!) On this blog, I'll be sharing my adventures of cooking for my family and friends, venturing out into restaurants and learning tips from people I meet. Come along!
This entry was posted in backyard chickens, eggs, garden, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

