It’s time

Some that made the cut.

Am I a dinosaur? I’ve been an editor for big magazines and have freelanced extensively but haven’t done a whole lot of web stuff. I hadn’t been avoiding it, really, I just figured I’d learn when I had to. (How complicated could it be? And I had done some of it, actually, but I wouldn’t call myself proficient.)

I was awakened when I recently applied for a job I thought I’d be a shoe-in for. I thought they’d snap me up, but it’s been two weeks and nobody’s even called for an interview. Could it be I don’t have the web experience they’re looking for? Have I become a dinosaur? Does all that experience in print journalism means nothing? It’s about time I start a blog. Change with the times, and all that.

This realization seems to coincide with a life passage that happened just the other day. I spent the day deep-cleaning the garage and scoffed at my dear husband when he told me he wasn’t able to get rid of his extensive collection of CDs, all of which have been copied onto an external hard drive and transferred to about three different iPods. I had no idea he was so sentimental!

But when my cleaning frenzy moved inside, I came face-to-face with my own nostalgia: I had three kitchen cabinets filled with cookbooks. I had table linens and serving pieces that needed a home. I had to purge. It was very, very difficult. I sat down to a plate of tomato-mozzerella and thought about the task at hand. I’d acquired some of these books back when I was an editor at Saveur. Others were passed down from my deceased mother-in-law. A few had been lugged home from vacations, thinking I could (or would want to) recreate the foods of mountainous Turkey or Estonia. I thought about storing some books in my just-tidied garage until I remembered how cruel I’d been with my husband and his need to hold on to his CDs. I went at it.

I kept The Silver Palate but got rid of Sheila Lukins’s Around the World Cookbook. Out went Gourmet Weekends and Gourmet’s Best of England and Ireland knowing I’d keep the newer Gourmet Cookbook. I’d never get rid of any Marcella Hazan but Lidia Bastianich is now at my local Goodwill. I hope she and Lee Bailey and James McNair and Betty Fussell and many others find good homes.

While I cherish many of my cookbooks, I also find myself looking to websites for inspiration. I go to Chow online and Epi on my iPad. It’s about time I, myself, move on. Thus, this blog.

About cdhla

I'm a former editor at several lifestyle magazines who's been freelancing since moving from NYC to LA. I call my blog The Chipped Platter to remind us that chips are better than perfection. The platter in question, a round one made by Gien, has traveled the world with me, visited with friends and family, celebrated milestones, and offered sustenance. My cherished Chipped Platter is part of the family. (I love my chipped plates, too!) On this blog, I'll be sharing my adventures of cooking for my family and friends, venturing out into restaurants and learning tips from people I meet. Come along!
This entry was posted in cookbooks, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

